M29: Weekly favourites

I’ve promised more regular blogposts so here we go… a new series of weekly favourites will be my Monday post. All of these favourites are a collation of the things that have inspired me the past week, whether it’s music I’ve listened to, or a book I’ve indulged in. Subscribe to my mailing list if you do enjoy this post, I’d love to hear your opinions too! Enjoy!

BOOKS – Enduring Love Ian McEwan

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I watched the film of this book a couple of months ago at school, and again the other day, as whilst I read this book I’m more and more intrigued by the riveting plotline and McEwan’s depiction of reason and rationality in contrast to religion. Enduring Love tells the story of Joe Rose who, after a freak hot balloon accident, finds himself shattered by a tragedy alongside an intriguing set of a encounters with the mysterious Jed Parry. I definitely recommend this novel in contrast to some of McEwan’s other texts (*cough* On Chesil Beach).

FILMS – La La Land

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Ok, ok, I know I’ve been going on and on about this film but honestly, why not? I recently spotted the DVD and immediately bought it, for this film needs to be near me at all times. I adore it. Instead of reiterating myself however, check out my other favourites post and my film journal record.

TV – The Handmaid’s Tale

elisabeth-moss-as-offred

I’ve yet to read Atwood’s classic feminist dystopia, yet it’s definitely next on my list after watching the first episode of the adaptation that aired on Channel 4 yesterday. It’s a disturbing, yet curious concept, particularly for the era it was written and its relevancy to the modern day. I definitely recommend this dark and twisted TV show if you’re a fan of the dystopias of Orwell and Bradbury.

MUSIC – Fenn Tom Rosenthal

This new release by Tom Rosenthal is enchanting and inspiring. My personal favourite off of Rosenthal’s new record is “What’s Getting You Down, James?” (although “P.A.S.T.A” has a special place in my heart). If you haven’t listened to Tom’s music before you’re defnitely missing out. Check out the Guardian’s post on his music here, and his YouTube here. Get inspired.

YOUTUBE – Conan Grey 

These videos are both beautiful and subtle. They have an old school charm as well as a personal touch that really keeps you watching. I love Conan’s style and can’t believe I’ve been missing out on his content for so long. His music is equally as charming, so definitely have an explore of his many varieties of content. Also, his thrift shopping videos make me wish I lived in America so bad. They’re just mmm, so good. Get ready for hours of procrastination! His YouTube is here.

Until next week. Remember to follow, check out my new Twitter here and subscribe to my mailing list for reminders about the new content!

E x

Leave a Reply

